My blog experience

blog

The last time I wrote a blog is about seven years ago, when I was in senior high school. Although blog is very popular that time, I just shared few things like some interesting articles in my blog, because I do not love writing. However, I never thought about that I just keep blogging for several weeks and finished five blogs. I also asked for comments on the Facebook group when I finished each blog and wish some classmate may read them when they are free.

But I just got such number of visitors so far.

Why is it happened? Why nobody wants to read?

Let’s review the history about the blogs became less and less popular.

The birth of other social media like Twitter, Facebook which is allowed few words with pictures in each post are the main threat of traditional blog. People are too busy to spend their time to write or read a blog, they even willing to click it once they recognised it is blog which means too many words. So why will I keep blogging if nobody read it?

Help yourself to organize what you learn and what you thought? Yes, I admit that it can let me to write down some ideas as a record. But what it has to be blog? Why not other convenient note apps like Evernote?

Blog can push me to focus on some issues about marketing? Exactly, I was forced to read more articles, news and try my best to think about them critically. But is it the power of blogging? Why not say it is the power of assessment?

However, if you ask me whether I will keep blogging or not, the answer is… yes!

Why?

OK, does situation that the number of users became much less than before means it is time to let blog die? Why not think from another perspective?

In my opinion, it is true that blog now is not suitable for being a social tool as it has been in the pass, because of the birth of other convenient platforms like Twitter. But as these platforms have words limitation, which is not enough to share about some academic or other professional ideas in detail, blog can exactly play an important role for relatively minority in academic or professional use as what we did in this module!

By the way, ‘it can be a kind of personal portfolio’ actually moved me in a way. And actually, the comments viewers left usually meaningful and inspirational. Also, it is actually a way for me to practice my English writing and marketing skills for my blog. Therefore, I will continue to write some blogs when I find something is interesting somewhere, sometime.

6 thoughts on “My blog experience

  1. zhouquan1992 2015-11-13 / 21:50

    I totally agree with you because audiences are not have enough patience to read the whole page in our daily life. We should find other interesting points in blog to attract audiences. However, blogs can help some companies to tell their brand history or culture in official page so it is a value of company and it is still a necessary method in marketing.

    Like

    • Edward 2015-11-15 / 01:45

      I think it is not about the content, but the form of blog is not accepted by many people. And it is true that companies can talk about their history or culture in official website, but they can do it without blog. After all, blog is another platform which is inconvenient, isn’t it?

      Like

      • zhouquan1992 2015-11-15 / 03:14

        Yes, many companies will tell the brand history on the official website. So it means blog are not useful for companies and individuals to do marketing. They can choose other new media platforms to connect with customers.

        Like

  2. disarinpacking 2015-11-15 / 09:33

    You force yourself to do the blog but you learn something right? You can improve your writing skill and also reading skill too. Hence, you can use this blog as your personal portfolio in your career field. I’m sure that you will find lots of benefit from blogging indeed.

    Like

  3. prinkpraewa 2015-11-16 / 06:31

    Hi there,

    It is good to hear that you are going to keep continue with your blog :). Yes you are right ! the blog can be your CV booster. However, I don’t think the blog is going to become less and less popular as you mentioned. Instead, i feel that sometimes we read blog and we don’t even know that we actually read it. We just search for an answer and sometime follow the link from Facebook. Have a thought about it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Edward 2015-11-16 / 08:12

      In fact, a 2008 research from Technorati showed us that 95 percent of blogs had been abandoned. It’s true that it lost many users because they turn to use other social media, but actually as I mentioned, the new role of blog may save it. Well, I agree with you in a way, maybe the reason why we try to find the result without reading the article carefully is because some blog have too many unnecessary words, so it is important to keep it simple and attractive for reader to read.

      Like

Leave a comment